Chapter News

NJ ASSP WISE Free Webinar

Posted: Oct 06, 2020

Worker Stretch and Flex Webinar with Lori Frederic

THURS OCT 15 • 12:00-1:15 EST

Helping physical workers avoid soft tissue injuries by optimizing human movement. Lori is a huge hit on social media and YouTube and this awesome presentation is not to be missed!

Speaker Lori Frederic, CMT CSCS, “The Movement Ninja”, Owner and Lead Consultant at Balance Biomechanics

Lori Frederic, CMT, CSCS is the Owner and Lead Consultant of Balance Biomechanics and loves to disrupt the conventional approach to sprain & strain prevention. Her knowledge of human movement and biomechanics compliments the world of Safety & Health to engage the workforce and create lasting results. Being a perpetual student of movement gives her the opportunity to share new ideas and bold solutions to save the world from injury and pain.

When Lori isn’t inspiring your workforce, she’s busy hanging with her husband, 3 kids and 3 dogs and occasionally fueling herself with bacon and good tequila.

For more information and to register click here.


2020 Leadership Conference

Posted: Sep 29, 2020

The 2020 Leadership Conference is now virtual. The online event will take place October 1 – 2. Connect with other leaders, session presenters and staff in plenary and breakout sessions, virtual networking events and the ASSP Resource Center from 8:00 a.m. – 3:45 p.m. Central each day. View the sessions you missed over the next 30 days to earn up to 1.2 CEUs.

For more information click here.

ASSP Recognizes Five Next-Generation Safety Leaders

Posted: Apr 21, 2020

The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) has selected its first group of recipients for a new award and professional development program aimed at advancing occupational safety and health careers while supporting the entire profession. Among the five recipients is ASSP Long Island Chapter’s very own Immediate Past President Anthony Marletta. Congratulations Anthony!

The group selected for ASSP’s Emerging Professional Award is:

-Matthew Herron, M.S., P.E., CSP, CPE

-Jayme Hobson, M.S., CSP, STS, CHST

-Jarred O’Dell, M.S., CSP, CUSP

-Anthony Marletta, M.S., CSP, ARM, LEED GA

-Ogaga Tebehaevu, M.S., CSP, CIH

The group will be placed into a yearlong professional development program that begins June 1. Each person will be matched with a mentor from ASSP’s past president and Fellows community. Highlights include complimentary registrations for ASSP’s annual Professional Development Conference and Exposition, Leadership Conference, and Leadership Development Experience.

Candidates for the award must be ASSP members who are under 40 years old or have fewer than 5 years of experience in the occupational safety and health field. The Society will recognize five recipients each year.

*More information on the award and recipients can be found at the following link: ASSP Recognizes Five Next-Generation Safety Leaders